Arts & Humanities Research Institute


The Eighth Annual SMI Postgraduate Students’ Conference will be hosted by the School of Creative Arts and Technologies at Ulster University, Magee Campus, Derry/Londonderry. It will run from lunchtime on Thursday 29 January to early evening on Friday 30 January 2015.

The conference committee has selected 25 proposals from potential contributors in all areas of musicology/history of musical cultures. Individual papers will be 20 minutes long, to be followed by 10 minutes’ discussion. The latest draft of the conference programme will be found here.

The keynote address will be given by Professor Burt Feintuch of the University of New Hampshire on the Friday evening.

A booking form can be downloaded here, or from the website of the Society for Musicology in Ireland.

A list of accommodation can be found on the front page of the Tourist Information Centre website.

All other enquiries should be sent to

The papers, which cover subjects as diverse as piping festivals, minimalism, music for gaming, music and disability and Wagner’s Ring, will be given by the following scholars:


David Bennis, Irish World Academy of Music and Dance

Daniel Beuster, Cork Institute of Technology

Morgan Buckley, University of Cambridge

Anja Bunzel, Maynooth University

Brendan Cleary, Dundalk Institute of Technology

Patrick Connolly, Dundalk Institute of Technology

Joanne Doherty, St Patrick’s College, Drumcondra

Donal Fullam, University College Dublin

Alice Goodwin, Dublin Institute of Technology

Emma Higgins, Maynooth University

Thomas Kehoe, Royal Irish Academy of Music

John King, Ulster University

Gary Lutton, Ulster University

Clare McCague, Dublin Institute of Technology

Patricia McCann, Queen’s University Belfast

Brendan McCloskey, Ulster University

Conal McShane, Ulster University

Ciara Moley, Dundalk Institute of Technology

Michael Nielsen, Ulster University

Violeta Nigro-Giunta, École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales

Aidan O’Donnell, Ulster University

Siobhan O’Halloran, Ulster University

Poilin Ui Ghallchoir, Ulster University

Denise White, Ulster University

Clare Wilson, Ulster University

The committee would like to thank the conference sponsors: the Society for Musicology in Ireland, the Arts and Humanities Research Institute at Ulster University, UCD Press and Routledge.